McDonald's® Honors Top Local Restaurant Managers With 2014 Ray Kroc Awards
Company Added
Company Removed
Apply to Request List

McDonald's® Honors Top Local Restaurant Managers With 2014 Ray Kroc Awards

Named After McDonald's Legendary Founder, Prestigious Award Recognizes Top 1% of U.S. Restaurant Managers

ISELIN, N.J. - March 24, 2015 // PRNewswire // - Seven local  restaurant managers have been named recipients of the 2014 Ray Kroc Award, a prestigious honor that recognizes the top 1% of restaurant managers at both  independently owned and operated franchisee restaurants and McDonald's corporately-owned restaurants across the United States.  In order to win this award, which is named after McDonald's legendary founder, general managers must be nominated for achieving success in operational excellence, management leadership, and customer satisfaction.  The seven Ray Kroc Award winners from the New York Tri-State region are:

  • Stephanie Bellew of Lindenhurst, NY 
  • Patrickson Carrette of Bronx, NY
  • Danelia Duran of Patterson, NJ
  • Matt Gottesman of Lake Ronkonkoma, NY
  • Robert McIntosh of Jamaica, NY
  • Janet Miah of East Elmhurst, NY
  • Michelle Slover of Keyport, NJ

Each of this year's Ray Kroc Award recipients –142 nationwide—will receive a $2,500 cash prize, a trophy and travel accommodations to Chicago to attend the awards gala.

"Ray Kroc once said, 'You're only as good as the people you hire' and this year's honorees are a living testament to that principle," said Mwaffak Kanjee, General Manager & Vice President of McDonald's New York Metro Region. "Their contributions to the brand and the business are an inspiration to everyone at McDonald's."

"The Ray Kroc Awards give us an opportunity to shine a bright light on some of the incredible men and women we have working with us," stated Paul Hendel, a McDonald's New York Tri-State franchisee. "They represent what every McDonald's franchisee strives for: to offer great career opportunities in a vibrant work team environment where employees can learn important business skills that they can take with them, whether with McDonald's or elsewhere," he continued.

About the 2014 Ray Kroc Award Winners

Stephanie Bellew of Lindenhurst, NY is an employee of Kaufman Enterprises, a McDonald's franchisee. Bellew began working at a McDonald's franchise at the age of 14 after her mother suggested she find a summer job. A decade later, Bellew manages several restaurants in the Long Island area. Upon hearing the news of her win, Bellew commented, "This is, so far, the biggest highlight of my career."

Patrickson Carrette of the Bronx is an employee of McDonald's franchisee Catherine Perna. He has been with a McDonald's franchise for over 25 years after starting out as a crew person at the age of 16. He credits his longtime McDonald's mentor and his colleagues for providing him with the necessary guidance and motivation to succeed, adding, "I would not have won without their help. They give me the drive to be even better than I am now."

Danelia Duran of Patterson, NJ is an employee of McDonald's franchisee Anthony Scari. She began her career with a McDonald's franchise at the age of 14 after she and her family immigrated to New York from her native Dominican Republic. When asked about winning the Ray Kroc Award, she commented, "Although I picked up most of my English from working at the restaurant, I can't seem to find the words to express how proud I am right now."

Matt Gottesman of Lake Ronkonkoma, NY is an employee of Hunt Enterprises, a McDonald's franchisee. He has been with a McDonald's franchise for 16 years and currently oversees a staff of 65 people, who he credits for his win. "It is nice to be recognized for what you do every day but I couldn't have done it without the people around me," said Gottesman.

Robert McIntosh of Jamaica, NY is an employee of McDonald's franchisee Jack Bert. He started with a McDonald's franchise in 1993 at the urging of his sister – a former Golden Arches employee. What was originally conceived as a summer job has blossomed into a rewarding 22 year career. "I would never have known I could win something like this," said McIntosh.

Janet Miah of East Elmhurst, NY credits the positive work environment and the support of her colleagues for her win. She believes the honor will encourage her to continue to go above and beyond for her customers as well as her colleagues. "Winning this award motivates me to work even harder," said Miah. "Success only comes when there's teamwork."

Michelle Slover of Keyport, NJ is an employee of Marin Management, a McDonald's franchisee. She began working at a McDonald's franchise as a part-time crew person after her sister, a former employee, suggested the idea. Thirteen years later, Slover now oversees a staff of 45 people, who she proudly acknowledges for her win. "The Ray Kroc Award is dedicated to my team," said Slover. "I would not be receiving this if it weren't for them."

About McDonald's Careers

The independent owners and operators of McDonald's Tri-State New York are proud of the many people who chose to stay with us over their careers, building long-term success for themselves and their families. We provide our employees with challenging careers, quality benefits and the best opportunities around. To learn more about how McDonald's of Tri-State New York helps people make their career goals a reality, visit

About McDonald's New York Tri-State Restaurants

McDonald's is the world's best-known brand and is the global leader in food service. There are more than 600 McDonald's restaurants, owned by 100 franchisees, located throughout the New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut Tri-State area. Visit or follow us on Twitter @McDNYTriState for more information about other McDonald's area programs.

©2015 McDonald's


Telly Wong
IW Group, Inc
O: (212) 494-8676

Joanna Lin
IW Group, Inc
O: (212) 494-8656



comments powered by Disqus
Share This Page

Subscribe to Our Newsletters

A Franchise Update Media Production
Franchise Update Media
P.O. Box 20547
San Jose, CA 95160
PH. (408) 402-5681
In Loving Memory Of Timothy Gardner (1987-2014)

Copyright © 2001 - 2020.
All Rights Reserved.