Texas Car Window Tint Law Effective Sept. 1
Installers, Vehicle Owners Face Fines for Non-Compliance
September 02, 2009 // Franchising.com // WACO, Texas - According to a new Texas law that goes into effect today, auto glass installers must apply a vehicle safety compliance label to windows and windshields they tint or they could face a misdemeanor charge and up to a $1,000 fine.
Current Texas law states it is a misdemeanor offense to drive a vehicle with excessively tinted windows. Windshields may be tinted only to certain dimensions, typically five inches from the top of the windshield. Texas law limits vehicle window tint to 25 percent or more light transmission and 25 percent or less luminous reflectance.
About Glass Doctor®:
Glass Doctor is the largest chain of full-service glass franchises in the nation. From windows to windshields to storefronts, Glass Doctor can handle any glass need. Glass Doctor also offers custom glass services, such as tub and shower enclosures, entry door glass and mirrors. Established in 1962 with one shop in Seattle, Wash., today Glass Doctor offers complete glass repair, replacement and services to the residential, automotive, and commercial markets at more than 375 locations in the United States. Today there are more than 165 Glass Doctor franchise owners across the United States and Canada.