Former Big O Tires President named to TIA Hall of Fame
Company Added
Company Removed
Apply to Request List

Former Big O Tires President named to TIA Hall of Fame

September 27, 2007 // // Denver, CO - The Tire Industry Association (TIA) has announced that Norman (Norm) Affleck, retired President, Chairman and CEO of Big O Tires, is one of the recipients of the 2007 Tire Industry Hall of Fame. Affleck is a Denver, CO resident.

Affleck was a founding member of Big O Tires, Inc. and was the first president of the company, a position that he held for over 22 years. Under his management, he recruited many franchisees, helped Big O Tires become a leader in retreading, developed a unique warranty program, instituted the private brand tire line and created the Speed Lane concept still used at all Big O Tires stores.

Big O Tires franchisees wanted to differentiate their stores from the competition and provide a reason for more customers to shop at Big O Tires; Affleck provided the leadership that enabled the company to introduce the first Big O Tires brand in 1974. That breakthrough presented Big O Tires with the key it needed capture and secure customers and began a new era in the company's history. Affleck's vision for the future, and his implementation of Big O's exclusive products and programs, were vital to the growth and success of the company.

When asked how he felt about hearing of his selection, Affleck said, "I was ecstatic. I have met and done business with many of the former inductees of the Hall of Fame. Being included with these great industry leaders is the highest honor I have ever received."

Affleck is the second person affiliated with Big O Tires to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. In 1994, William B. (Bill) Thomas was inducted. Thomas along with Affleck and other dealers of OK Tire and Rubber stores formed the company that would later become Big O Tires.

Affleck started in the tire business in 1945 as an OK Tire & Rubber storeowner. By 1960, he had six stores in Southern Colorado and New Mexico. He and a group of other OK franchisees formed Big O Tire Dealers, Inc. in 1962. Affleck served as Big O Tires' president, CEO and Chairman of the Board from 1962 to 1984.

For three years, he flew his own plane around the country, at his expense, meeting with independent dealers and selling the Big O Tires concept. He played a key role in developing many of the programs that make Big O Tires unique. His own experience in the tire business taught him that the best way to make money was to have an exclusive product, program, or service, and he worked passionately on all of these.

In 1965, Affleck developed and implemented the first Speed Lane in the tire industry. He created a drive-through bay in his Denver store. The result was an immediate improvement in customer satisfaction, along with increased productivity and store profitability. The ultimate exclusive was the Big O brand of tires, which was introduced in 1974. Norm retired in 1984, but continues his contributions in the tire industry through new tire manufacturing technology, with two waste hydrocarbons energy companies and consulting.

The Hall of Fame Inductions will take place on Tuesday, October 30, 2007, in Las Vegas, Nevada prior to the opening of TIA's Performance Tires & Wheels/SEMA Show.

Big O Tires, Inc. serves over 540 franchised stores, primarily in the Western and Midwestern states, and also distributes tires and other automotive service products to Associated Dealers in Western Canada. Since 1996, Big O Tires has operated as a subsidiary of Florida-based TBC Corporation. In September 2005, TBC Corporation and its subsidiary companies were purchased by Sumitomo Corporation of America, which is a wholly owned subsidiary of Tokyo based Sumitomo Corporation..

To obtain further information on becoming a Big O Tires Franchisee, please contact our Franchise Qualifications Specialist at 1-800-622-2446 or send an email to .

About TIA Hall of Fame: 1985-2006
The purpose of the Hall of Fame is to honor, preserve and perpetuate the names and outstanding accomplishments of personalities who have brought lasting fame to the tire, rubber and transportation industries. Past inductees include Harvey Firestone, Charles Goodyear, Andrew Michelin, John Dunlop, Les Schwab and Ernest Zielasko. The Hall of Fame is open to all in the tire industry, including manufacturers, inventors, publishers, equipment suppliers, tire dealers and retreaders.



comments powered by Disqus
Share This Page

Subscribe to Our Newsletters